Don’t worry, be happy..!

peaceful

I was climbing up the stairs at Kurla station. And while ducking umbrellas and trying to keep my balance on the wet stairs I noticed a man sitting on the muddy step ahead of me. As I looked at him I saw a huge smile spread across his face. I was amazed by his ability to smile in such circumstances. I had just been cringing inside about the disgusting mess the rain had created. Mud to my ankles, wet clothes and black water were ruining my day. But here he was sitting in it all yet still able to smile. I smiled back at him and the rest of the day my mind kept rewinding to his smiling face.

While working with Oasis, I have often been amazed by the individuals we work with and their ability to stay joyful amidst the pain and suffering they endure. On one of my first days in Oasis, I was taken to a slum. During my visit I was befriended by one of the community ladies and she wanted to show me her home. She led me down a small alley way lined by small homes. We came to hers and she proudly pulled back the curtain.

Taking in my surroundings I noticed that her cement home was painted bright blue inside, and was very clean. I was invited to sit on her mattress. As I sat down, I saw a small boy lying beside me. Looking at him I noticed that he didn’t seem to be able to move, and that his eyes were not tracking with what was happening. His mother shifted him gently explaining that he was not able to move, speak or see. The boy was five, but he was about the size of a two year old.  I began to talk to the boy and his face broke into a warm smile. His mother lovingly smiled back at him. We sat talking for a little while longer and I was brought a cold pepsi from a store nearby. As I sipped it and watched and listened to the family I was amazed by their generosity and joyfulness in such a challenging circumstance. In comparison, I had so much wealth but did I have that much contentment, generosity and joy?

Sagar is a young boy who I have known for the past four years. He is a thirteen year old who loves to learn and ask questions. Sagar came to live at Purnata Bhavan – Oasis India’s residential care center for women and children affected and infected by HIV and AIDS – when he was a toddler. He was in need of care because he had lost his mother in a fire. The fire had also left him with severe burns. The burns caused him to need a blood transfusion. During this transfusion the HIV virus had entered his body. The fire had also caused him to lose three of the fingers on his hand.

When I met Sagar he was nine years old. I was amazed by how he could tie his shoes, play badminton and play cricket. He never complained about the handicap that he had been left with, but instead found ways to overcome any situation with it. I love Sagar’s sense of humor and his sensitivity toward others. I am impressed by how he always wants to learn more and know how things work.

As I have watched Sagar button up his uniform in the morning, I realised that I need to stop complaining about the small problems I face; and instead like Sagar, face life with courage and find ways to creatively overcome the situations in front of me.

The man on the stairs, the lady in the slum, my friend Sagar – I want to learn to be like them. To smile, to be generous and kind, and to creatively overcome life’s challenges; that is what I hope I can learn to do.

Bethany Hannah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment